“Interpretation” is also a sincere form of flattery

Dear Mr. Sheffield

I am writing to say that I found your photo of the man on a ladder so
powerful that I decided to paint it. The work is original but
derivative. As long as I have the power to do so, I will cite your work
as the origin of my idea.

I wish you the best in your career and creative explorations.
ed newman
ennyman

Here is a picture of the painting, which I plan to show in my show at
Beaners Central here in Duluth (the opening is Thursday)
I am attaching an invitation, too… though you only need show up in
spirit.
Thanks for the reply.
ed

Painting by Ed Newman

"Ladder 33", silver gelatin print by Stephen Sheffield

http://ed-newman.blogspot.com

http://pioneerproductions.blogspot.com

Follow Ed on twitter :  @ennyman3

~ by Stephen Sheffield on June 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
